

Need a Captioned Telephone at No Cost?

Equipment Distribution Services (EDS) is an equipment distribution program operated by the North Carolina Division of Services for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing (DSDHH), The purpose of the EDS program is to provide captioned telephones (CapTel) at no cost to qualified residents who have hearing loss.

To qualify for the EDS program, an applicant must:

- Be a legal resident of North Carolina
- Proof of Income Up to 250 percent of poverty level
- Proof of hearing loss
- Attend an Information Session

To apply for a CapTel phone, see the list of DSDHH Regional Centers near you on the back and contact them to make an appointment.



Hi grandma this is Caryn hey guess what? My ney guess what? My nom said I could come over your house this over your house this afternoon

CapTel 840/840i

For more information, contact: Kim Calabretta, CapTel NC Manager:

- kim.m.calabretta@sprint.com
- (844) 519-4806 (toll-free)
- captelnc.com

FEDERAL LAW PROHIBITS ANYONE BUT REGISTERED USERS WITH HEARING LOSS FROM USING INTERNET PROTOCOL (IP) CAPTIONED TELEPHONES WITH THE CAPTIONS TURNED ON. IP Captioned Telephone Service may use a live operator. The operator generates captions of what the other party to the call says. These captions are then sent to your phone. There is a cost for each minute of captions generated, paid from a federally administered fund. No cost is passed on to the CapTel user for using the service. CapTel is a registered trademark of Ultratec, Inc.

To make an appointment to get a free CapTel Phone



The Division of Services for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing (DSDHH) provides services through its seven North Carolina regional centers. These services are open to anyone who has a hearing loss. Family members, professionals, agencies and individuals seeking information or assistance also have access to these services. There is no charge for these services.

Charlotte Regional Center

5501 Executive Center Drive, Suite 200 Charlotte, NC 28212

Phone: (704) 568-8558 or (800) 835-5302 Videophone: (704) 918-1554 TTY: (704) 568-8505 or (800) 835-5306 Fax: (704) 568-9615

Counties Served: Anson, Cabarrus, Gaston, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Richmond, Rowan, Stanly, and Union

Morganton Regional Center

107 Foothills Drive Morganton, NC 28655

Phone: (828) 430-7185 or (800) 999-8915 Videophone: (828) 475-6606 TTY: (828) 430-7192 or (800) 205-9920 Fax: (828) 430-7193

Counties Served: Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Cleveland, Iredell, McDowell, Rutherford, Watauga, Wilkes

Wilmington Regional Center

3240 Burnt Mill Drive, Suite 5 Wilmington, NC 28403

Phone: (910) 251-5702 or (800) 205-9915 Videophone: (910) 777-5770 TTY: (910) 251-5767 or (800) 205-9916 Fax: (910) 251-2677

Counties Served: Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, Duplin, Jones, New Hanover, Onslow, Pender, Robeson, Sampson and Scotland



Asheville Regional Center

12 Barbetta Drive Asheville, NC 28806

Phone: (828) 665-8733 or (800) 681-7998 Videophone: (828) 333-5830 TTY: (828) 665-8737 or (800) 681-8035 Fax: (828) 670-5054

Counties Served: Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, Mitchell, Polk, Swain, Transylvania and Yancey

Greensboro Regional Center

122 North Elm Street, Suite 900 Greensboro, NC 27401

Phone: (336) 273-9692 or (888) 467-3413 Video Phone: (336) 429-5644 TTY: (336) 273-5842 Fax: (336) 256-0689

Counties Served: Alamance, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Guilford, Randolph, Rockingham, Stokes, Surry and Yadkin

Raleigh Regional Center

4900 Waters Edge Drive Raleigh, NC 27606

Phone: (919) 859-8526 or (800) 999-5737 Videophone: (919) 890-0858 TTY: (919) 233-7082 or (800) 233-7082 Fax: (919) 233-7083

Counties Served: Caswell, Chatham, Cumberland, Durham, Franklin, Granville, Harnett, Hoke, Johnston, Lee, Moore, Nash, Orange, Person, Vance, Wake and Warren

Wilson Regional Center

2705 Wooten Boulevard Wilson, NC 27893

Phone: (252) 243-3104 or (800) 999-6828 Videophone: (252) 674-1141 TTY: (252) 243-1951 or (800) 205-9925 Fax: (252) 243-7634

Counties Served: Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Lenoir, Martin, Northampton, Pamilco, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell, Washington, Wayne and Wilson